Christmas Car

by Kyle

This from Jordan Vandermade, a presenter on the afterschool kid’s show, Studio 2:

My favorite Christmas memory was when I had made a bet with my uncle during the year that if I was a NZ champion at anything by the end of the year, he’d buy me a car. So I won NZ titles for athletics during the year. Time went by and still no car was delivered by my uncle. Then on Christmas Day we were giving out all the presents and my uncle said “Is that it? All the presents given out?”. Here I am thinking my other presents are wicked and then my uncle picks ip an envelope off the ground with “Jord” written on it and says, “Oh wait. Here’s one last one for you, Jord.” I opened up the envelope and there were the keys to my new car!

I think that’s a cool story. Jordan’s lucky to have been given the chance to learn to drive at the young age he was when he scored a car for Christmas. Like most of my mates who proudly drive around, their parents having given them a car or scooter for their 16th birthdays.
It’s a chance that I don’t have. My evil parents have never given me the chance to learn to drive, despite my pleas to do so.  And here we are, approaching 2009 (and most possibly my final year in New Plymouth) and still, nothing has happened.  It’s alarming, because I need to be able to drive myself around when the time comes to go to Auckland.  And sad, because most of classmates drive to school and all around and it’s something that I’d really like to do.

I’m extremely thankful to Meredith, who let me drive 100m down the road when we were filming one time. It was a great experience and one I’ll never forget! She showed me what to do, and it was stress-free. I’m glad it was her and not some stressful old fool.
It was my first time behind the wheel, and probably the last until I’m 43 years old and need to cart Mum from the rest home to the hospital and back. Dad will surely be dead and buried by then, but it’s without a doubt that he would have taught Jeremy and Jamie to drive.

I’ve brought the subject up many times with Mum and Dad, but they couldn’t be less interested. Dad argues about the cost – fair point, but maybe if he wasn’t wasting money on lights and radio stations, things like this (basically a step towards manhood and a vital skill) would be affordable.

